Copper Coast

The towns of Moonta, Kadina and Wallaroo are part of an area known now as the Copper Coast. It is named after the mining boom in Cooper in the 19th century and is roughly 150 kms from Adelaide at the top of Yorke Peninsula.

The mining boom that resulted from the discovery of Copper enabled rapid development of the region, at the same time, providing a boost to the states economy.

The town of Moonta is now famous for it heritage and history as well as a tourism and shopping base for the region.

Kadina is the main business area in the region and has recently had a face lift.

Wallaroo is the largest seaside town in the Copper Coast. It is popular for fishing, boating and eating and now has cruise ships docking quite regularly.

Many wonderful trips and holidays can be planned and organised, looking at the Copper Coast tourism guide and working out what you want to do.