Places to Visit

Copper Coast

The towns of Moonta, Kadina and Wallaroo are part of an area known now as the Copper Coast. It is named after the mining boom in Cooper in the 19th century and is roughly 150 kms from Adelaide at the top of Yorke Peninsula. The mining boom that resulted from the discovery of Copper enabled rapid …

Copper Coast Read More »

Yorke Peninsula Art Trail

Explore the Yorke Peninsula Art Trail to discover colourful murals, statues, mosaic creations and photo opportunities across the region.  Visit regional galleries and artists’ studios to see the artists in residence. You can also buy paintings, jewellery, ceramics and other artworks direct from the maker.

Moonta Heritage Trail

The trail starts at the Town Hall and is a leisurely drive of about 16 kms which can be completed in 1-2  hours. The trail passes many sites of historical interest and gives visitors an impression of the history and development of Moonta. Simply follow the distinctive Trial Signs (Tour Drive No 38). Note that …

Moonta Heritage Trail Read More »

Richmans Enginehouse

Richmans concentrating plant was one of three at the Moonta Mine, the others being Hancocks and Ryans. It operated from 1869 until the mine closed in 1923, crushing and concentrating ore from nearby shafts. During this period many alterations were made to the plant to suit the improved technology of mining and processing. Waste from …

Richmans Enginehouse Read More »

Hughes Enginehouse

Hughes Enginehouse played a focal role in the operations of the Moonta Mine. Its function was to dewater the underground workings on the mine’s largest orebodies. These orebodies, known as Elders and Elders West Lodes, were worked over a length of 1000 metres and to depths of more than 700 metres. This classic Cornish enginehouse …

Hughes Enginehouse Read More »